“It is not a la…

“It is not a lack of love, but a lack of friendship that makes unhappy marriages.”

My husband is my best friend. Maybe that is why we are so happy together. I see all these people getting married and years, maybe even months later getting divorced. My husband and  I have been together for two years and we have never fought. We’ve argued for a moment and then its over. We have never said something we’ll regret only to apologize later and I think it is because we are friends.

When I got married, I gave up the “I” and became a “we”. He did as well. He went from being a single guy out on the weekends to a man with an instant family. He was there for me and for Adison in ways that other people we not. Its weird to watch a child change before your eyes when she has a very positive male role model.

I can remember every single amazing moment that I’ve spent with him. I remember the first messages back and forth. He had an amazing way with words. He used proper grammar and for those who don’t know me… that is true love right there.

I remember the first meeting. I was so nervous but he was buying a recliner for his apartment because he didn’t have enough seats for Adison and I. He invited me to stay the night because I had stayed too long talking about everything.  I remember the first kiss. The first, “I love you”, the first cry because I was so happy. I remember it all and yet I can’t seem to wait for the next happy moment.

People say marriages don’t last because the attraction is gone. The sex is gone. The love it gone. I honestly feel they must have never had them to begin with. Two years later, I still feel like giddy little girl every time he caresses my arm or hugs me. I still get butterflies every single time he says he loves me and I still feel like he’s the best friend I could ever ask for.

 

Leave a Reply

