motherhood in less than 8 minutes…

Motherhood is the strangest thing; it can be like being one’s own Trojan horse.”

Any stay at home mom knows that you have to learn to do everything in less than eight minutes.  Taking a shower AND shaving your legs, cooking dinner, and yes, even sex.

I have two wonderful children- but I am sure all parents say that about their children. Adison Jolene is five years old. She is a curly headed little monster who started kindergarten this year. I also have Benjamin Maxwell. He’s an eight month old, bright-eyed little boy.

Image

They are my life. I went from working in retail full-time to stay at home mom in a very short period of time. I am not your conventional mother either.

I am what some would call a “crunchy” mom.

I wear my baby. When he’s fussy, I put him in the sling and he’s asleep within minutes. It also allows me to get stuff done when he’s entirely too upset.

I breastfeed and am a big advocate of doing so.

I co-sleep with my children. Ben is just now starting to sleep in his own space. While my husband was on third shift, Ben slept in the bed with me every night. We snuggled. He nursed when he wanted. It was heaven. Occasionally, Adison gets in on the cuddle sleep time as well.

I make my own baby food.

We eat rather healthy and usually organic. I am attempting to go vegetarian and/or vegan in my house but my husband LOVES hamburgers. 🙂

I will be homeschooling Benjamin. Adison is not homeschooled because she does need extra help that her school offers. I am not equipped to teach a child with a learning disability.

As you read this, I am sure people are saying, “Well, she must think she’s perfect.”

WRONG!

I know that I am not a perfect mother, wife, or even person. My house isn’t always spotless, sometimes, I microwave leftovers. I don’t always force Adison to take baths every day. I yell. I punish. I even spank her, if the behavior warrants it. I sometimes forget things I promised to do and I am almost ALWAYS late.

I am writing a blog because maybe I have something that could benefit someone. I’m not saying i am super experienced or super mom but I know my way around a nursery.

😀

Leave a Reply

